You are here

Sports Highlight Film & Editing

augiecrazy8's picture

Does anyone have experience shooting sporting events and editing highlight films? This is my main area of interest within this industry and plan to do it for high schools in my area. I'm basically looking for suggestions on pricing and pricing structure. I know a lot of athletic programs are hard up for cash at this point, and with some experience in the past I think I can help with this by creating highlight films that can be sold to the team members/families, etc. I had success in college creating highlight films for my team, and then selling them through the program to make money. Of course I was a student then, and the program took 100% of the profits... but does this sound like something that I can extend professionally now? I can charge for time and effort, and the sell 10 dvd's at a certain price, and the program can then sell them for more to the players and keep the difference. Any suggestions, comments?

augiecrazy8's picture

By saying school's don't have that much money.. do you mean that you don't think schools or athletic programs would be willing to purchase say ten films at a time at my price and then distribute them?

Rob Grauert's picture

I'm saying you won't get paid the rates of a pro videographer or editor. I can't tell you whether or not they will buy them when you're done or how much they will buy them for since I don't work at a school. That's something you'll have to discuss with them. But I feel like the money you make won't be worth while.

I know at the high school I graduated from, we had a video teacher who took care of shooting sports and creating a 30 minute video (each sports team had one minute of "air time") and then distributed them. That's actually how I learned to shoot and edit. So you might even come across a school where they have the work you want to do taken care of already.