You are here

Simple Audio Clean Up Question - Looking for opinions

gregorypaolini's picture

I've been lurking for a bit, but this is my First time posting here -

I make some real simple videos which I put on youtube, facebook, etc..., and up until this point, Windows Live Movie Maker has worked just fine for me

I wanted to improve my audio, so I upgraded my camera, and went to a wireless mic.

After shooting a few hours of video, I realized my camera's mic input (Canon T2 Rebel 550D) has a hiss. I have to send the camera for warranty repair, but in the mean time, I need to clean the hiss to use the footage already shot.

The hiss is veryconsistentin volume and frequency, and if I was doing this 20 years ago, I'd just use a parametric eq to remove it with no problem.

I was thinking about upgrading toPremierElements 10. My thought was I could clean the hiss with Elements, and pick up some additional capabilities for editing and titling at the same time

I'm basically looking for opinions: Will Elements work for me? Or is there a better option?

Thanks in advance

pseudosafari's picture

I don't know for sure about Elements, but Adobe Soundbooth or Adobe Audition both could help with this. I only mention that because if you're interested in upgrading, you can look at the various Adobe Premiere Pro packages--some of them come with these audio tools. You won't be disappointed.

However, if you don't want to go that far, try exporting the audio of your videos to a separate .mp3 or .wav file, and editing that in the free audio program called Audacity. It probably has tools to fix your hisses and hums. I used that before I bought the Adobe package and it was pretty good.

Perhaps someone with specific knowledge of Elements can chime in here, though.

Good luck!

BruceMol's picture