Should i buy this?

(7 posts)
  • Started 3 years ago by OctaneFilms
  • Latest reply from NewBirthProductions

No tags yet.


  1. OctaneFilms
    Member

    Hey im looking at this camera and buying it online, here is a site i found with a crazy deal! to good to be true? you tell me http://shopdigitaldirect.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=7700

     Things im looking for

    does it come with everything i need like lense, battery, and charger?

    im gonna call in tommorow and ask them but i thought id hear what you guys had to say first, i mean this is an expensive camera to be sold for that price right?!

    Posted 3 years ago #
  2. jeff92k7
    Member

     You should stay FAR away from that.  Anything that sounds too good to be true, will be.

    For starters, nowhere on that site do they list any contact names, phone numbers, or addresses.  The only hint of where they are stems from a line about charging NY residents sales tax.  This indicates that this is yet another name for that company that is operating in New York selling cameras at unbelievable prices only to upsell you on overpriced items like the power supply, battery, lenses, etc.

    What they do is take just the camera body out of the box and that is what they sell.  Once you place your order, they call you and pressure you into spending too much for the accessories that the manufacturer included that they removed.

    Further, a lot of their products don't have any warranty since they are not an authorized reseller and some of their products are even overseas product and not supported in the US.

    Stick to a known reseller like B&H that has clear policies and that you don't have to worry about.

    Jeff

    Posted 3 years ago #
  3. robGRAUERT
    Member

     always check http://www.resellerratings.com when things seem too good to be true. Either that or stick with B&H.

    Posted 3 years ago #
  4. brandon0409
    Member

    STAY AWAY!

    STAY AWAY!

    STAY AWAY!

    STAY AWAY!

    Posted 3 years ago #
  5. Ferragui
    Member

    Rob !!!!   you just saved me !! I am a beginer looking for a camcorder and found a XL2 at 899 on soniccameras.com !! I was wondering if that could be possible, then I saw this topic being discussed, I entered on the page you recomend (resellerratings.com) and found a lot of horrible feedback about soniccameras.com.

    thanks for the tip, that webpage is really helpfull !!!! 

    Posted 3 years ago #
  6. domineaux
    Member

    I got a great deal at beachcamera.com

    They shipped it pronto and no problems of any kind.

    One thing I always do...  I check all the cheap price aggregators first.  I look over the vendors carefully looking for reviews or feedbacks on the vendor.

    Then I go to Amazon.com  9 out of 10 times the amazon price is a close match.  I then buy from Amazon because you can trust them.

    I have never failed to get anything from amazon, if when it went through one of their participating suppliers.  I initiate my purchases through Amazon in such cases even if I know how to contact the participating supplier.

    Posted 3 years ago #
  7. NewBirthProductions
    Member


RSS feed for this topic

Supported video provider:

youtube, myvideo, funnyordie, gametrailers, collegehumor, dailymotion, glumbert, liveleak, redtube, googlevideo, sevenload, metacafe, clipfish, vimeo

Search

Members

2 Members are online.
Jerry Batt, fx1shooter

Top ten posters this month.