You are here

shooting stock footage and wildlife.

Rob Grauert's picture

Hey guys,

I was wondering about stock footage. Can you make good money shooting stock footage? What should a videographer shoot? Is there an ideal format to shoot, forexample, 1080p, since it's a large resolution and progressive scanning. How would he or she go about selling it?

I really want to become a wildlife videographer. Could I shoot stock footage of this to gain some experience, but also try to sell it? Who would I sell it too? And to who?

This area interests me because I'm a student who wants to improve shooting skills and in the future become a wildlife videographer. It's my greatest interest in the whole industry.

Thank you for any help.

Rob G.

cdanddvdpublisher's picture

I don't know about good money - and, who's to say I'll probably start a lovely debate - but if you're wanting to see whether or not it's something you feel okay about, take a look at some of the microstock sites. They used to be geared more to photographers, but a lot are now taking video footage as well.

FallingStarFilms's picture

shoot some good wildlife stock footage and I might buy it! When you need royalty free footage, you just need it. I shoot lots of "B" roll all the time and save it to a library of disks "just in case" I should need it later. (but then again, I save nails and screws - just in case I'll need them later) I think there is a market for decent stock footage. I say make a disk or two and then put them up on ebay. See where it goes. I just might join you in this.

Later days,

Trey

film814's picture