You are here

Shooting at night

zack86's picture

I am shooting my firstmovie soon. I'm using a Sony XDCAM HD F355. The two night scenes will be at an airport. I'm using 650 w Frenels plus a few others, 650 w too, all tungsten. I have a generatorbut the sound won't be a problem. I need help on how to light the two teenage male actors. Any thought on gels to use. I have to shoot at night because I'm filming the cargo freighters landing as part of the scenes. Also how far should the lights be from the actors? Any other ideas welcome. I want to try your ideas a head of time to see how well they work. THX.

Rob Grauert's picture

I've read that blue gels are a good options to create a night scene.

Also, instead of using strong key lights, use a strong rim light that is positioned high to act as moonlight and use a bounce card or reflector to illuminate the talents' faces.

I'm not an expert with lighting, this is just what i've read.

swat791's picture

"I've read that blue gels are a good options to create a night scene."

I was playing around with a blue gel over a window at noon- 1pm time. The light coming through the gel gave the room a night time full moon look. It was pretty neat looking...what I learn just trying things :)

ProJuiceTV's picture

You can do a lot with VFX in creating a night look. It really involves shooting close to the end or start of a day. You dnt want too much direct sunlight. Desaturate your footage and coulise it blue with a curves filter (or something similar). Remember that if it is a night scene, cars driving past would have lights on and street lamps etc... i kow your in an airport but think about backgrounds (through windows etc.)

Nick

Pro Juice TV
http://www.projuice.org
http://www.animusindustries.com
Online portal and television series about music, video and multimedia for guerrilla producers that want to make, distribute and market their media.

JMM
JMM's picture

im not a fan of postproduction editing to give the night feel,