You are here

Recording a two person interview questions

mjryan67's picture

Greetings all!

New to the forum, i have been lurking for a couple of weeks and it seems like this group has a bunch of great talent and a great community! So for my first post I thought I would start with something that I am struggling with, I am a photographer that is adding video services for my commercial clients it seems like the two mediums have alot of natural synergy.

My wife and I own a higher end hair salon, day spa and photography studio all in one facility and I am looking to use video heavily on the marketing side to show clients what can be done and how it can enhance your social media marketing. So I am learning the in's and out's of producing truly professional video, so one of the things that I want to do is record interviews of all of out service providers in a fun way, The name of the business is The Studio and I am doing a series of "Inside the Studio" where we interview each person so that prospective clients can get to know the stylist and spa service providers a little more personally.

I want to do this as a two camera interview with one camera capturing the wider shot of both and the second camera close up on the subject giving the answers.

My current kit is comprised of a Canon HF30 and a Canon XA-10, I have an Audio Technica AT-875 shotgun mic, a sony wireless lav and handheld system and an Audio Tech 2050 for doing voice overs.

The basic setup is is the HF30 doing the wide shot with no sound recording, the XA-10 has the AT shotgun boomed between the two subjects and is recording the interviewee in a close up shot.

The XA-10 has XLR inputs and records great sound, my levels are good and the sound is great. The problem I am having is in the post process and combining the two different video shots and one audio and getting everything synced up.