You are here

Producing training videos

angelt's picture

I am an instructional designer, and will be producing instructional videos for online posting. I am shopping for a video camera to use for this purpose. My company is a non-profit hospice, so funds are very limited. Can anyone recommend a video camera that will provide quality, editable video footage that will meet our needs?

Thanks for your help!

hmueller's picture

It depends on the kind of video that you are going to shoot. I would suggest that you use a camera with a microphone, especially if you are going to do interviews as part of the training.

However, you need to give us some idea of your budget. For example a <span id="btAsinTitle">Canon VIXIA HF S21 will cost $1300 whereas the Kodak Zi8 will cost $300 - both have microphone inputs and can shoot in HD.</span>

hmueller's picture

Sorry, I meant to say "a camera with a microphone input" in my previous post

angelt's picture

Thanks for the post hmueller! My budget is definitely closer to the $300 range than the $1,000+ range.

I know I will be doing audio, and I'm thinking that using a wireless mic would be helpful, but not sure if that is a feasible idea. There will be times that I will want to overlay audio done at one point in time, over a video or animation done at another time.

hmueller's picture

The kodak is about $130 from AmazonYou will need a tripod for sure. You can buy a wireless mic from Azden for about $100, otherwise the more professional units are $400 and up. A wired lavalier mic from Radio Shack costs about $30! To record sound to overlay you could of course use the same lav mic, but you might find a USB headset& mic easier to use such as the Plantronics.

Also you will need editing software. If you do not have this already, I would suggest either Sony Vegas or Adobe Premiere Elements.

Heidi

J.E.Caudle's picture