You are here

Phantom power or not? - Sennheiser

JoeLouw's picture

I am still new in this industry. I bought myself a Canon XH G1 with a Sennheiser shotgun mic, consisting of two units - the ME 66 and K6.

Now the question is regarding the K6 Powering module. I got my training from a well known cinematographer in Cape Town who knows what he's doing for over 20 years. (He owns the same mic as me) As I've been told by him that you should never use a non-phantom powering mic on a video camera with phantom power switched on. (49V) - He said you will blow the phantom power sircuit on the camera.Now I've asked him if I can use the mic that I have, and switch on the phantom power. He said no! Now I'm going through the K6 power modulemanual and it states the following:

K6 powering module for battery or phantom

K6 P power module for phantom powering only

I own this K6. Can I use it for phantom powering?

Please explain?

Thank you!

jeff92k7's picture

If you want to use phantom power, just turn off the switch on the mic. If you don't want to use phantom power, turn the phantom power off and turn the mic switch on.

You will typically be fine using a mic that doesn't require phantom power even if the phantom power is turned on. Most modern mics will just "ignore" the phantom power if it's not needed. I've never heard of a device that offer phantom power (camera in your case) being damaged by turning phantom power on. It doesn't make much sense to make a product that can damage itself. That's not good for business - unless you're making explosives.

I have heard of mics being damaged by phantom power though. These mics are usually ribbon mics and are typically very fragile and aren't the type of mic that you would use for field recording anyway. They are also usually very old mics. Even modern ribbon mics are typically made to ignore phantom power if they don't need it.