You are here

panasonic HDC TM 700 videocam

deannebg's picture

I am brand new to video. I am starting a personal history business recording chapters of life for preservation. Am working to learn how to use videocam to record the individual and/or family interviews and then will edit them adding music, stills, audio. So I've studied and researched MANY cameras. I have come to the conclusion to start with a middle of the road one that covers all my basic needs. The Panasonic HDC TM 700 seems to have great reviews on many sites. Does anyone have anything really negative to say about it? After I get a camera then I'll come back and ask about editing programs when I've researched them.

grunwaldm's picture

Hello,

I've got one (HDC-SD700), and must say that's really greatcamcorder with great video quality especially on 1080/50P mode! Recording indoors, for best results, you must remember to set your cam to manual mode to lower gain level. Using iA camcorder usually raises gain level even to +18dB making picture looks bad. What cons? I'haven't notice yet. To operate 50P AVCHD files your computer must meets high hardware requirements. For best results: 64-bit system, 64-bit video software (e.g.minimum 8GB ram, modern multi-core CPU (Intel, AMD), high speed HDD, video card with CUDA (Nvidia) or equivalent AMD Radeon.

PS Sorry for possible languwge mistakes. I'm not native english speaker.

Best Regards

Grunwald, Poland

Pablo's picture

This post is quite old but I am also looking for a "prosumer " camera and have listed down the Panasonic TM 900 /700 and the Canon HF G10. The Canon has an edge on low light, but the Panasonic has a multifunctional ring.

Could anyone tell me if the ring in the Panasonic can be configure to control the manual zoom? I've read a review saying that the ring only controls zoom "in auto mode". This is a major disanvantage.

oldnick's picture