You are here

PAL vs NTSC

rockanomicon's picture
1. Does filming in PAL, vs. NTSC make that much of difference in attaining the infamous, "film look". ( I will probably be shunned for even usingt those two words in the same sentence. ) Sure i understand that 25 fps is closer to 24fps than the NTSC's 30 fps, but those are numbers on paper, and I think we all know how well (or poorly) numbers on paper reflect actuality.

I realize that equipment does not make a great product, its the person behind the camera, and their talent (or lack there-of). Believe me, I've been playing music for over 13 years. There is nothing quite like the person with the $3500 gem of a guitar, that thinks a $3500 Les Paul is going to make up for a lack of talent. But in the same breath why shoot yourself in the foot to prove a point.

2. Has anyone used the Magic Bullet Suite for After Effects? If so, what was your configuration and what were the results?

ThomasTyndan's picture
the PAL standard is the non US/Canada broadcast framerate. You use that standard so you don't have to do any conversions or adjustments. So if you want to do it the traditional "film" way you can buy DV camcorders that record in NTSC 24 FPS. the US/Canada Film framerate. Like the perfect in everyway, and also very expensive Canon XL2. The human eye has trouble differentiating small movments at around 12 FPS but it can pick up strobing at fast movements at around 24 FPS. The 24 FPS is kinda arbitrary as it is just the speed that film cameras are standardized to film at. If you want the film look on DV buy a XL2 and use Magic Bullet. Also make sure that you shoot a shollow depth of field. In order to recreate the optics of a film camera.

Which brings me to the second part: I have never used Magic Bullet in After Effects, but I do use it in in Sony Vegas, what do you mean configuration?

Welcome to the forums!

rockanomicon's picture
Thanks for your reply!