You are here

Ok, I'm ready to upgrade

cdinkel91's picture

Ok, so I'm a film student at the college I attend and have been shooting random stuff since High School. Last year I upgraded to a Canon Vixia HF M40. Love the camera, but my first project with it DESTROYED my laptop. So, since then I've been computer less. But I got a credit card, slowly built up my credit, and now I am able to finance a computer from Best Buy for up to 1200. Now, at first I thought I would get a Mac. All the computers at the school are macs and all the classes use Final Cut and Avid on Mac. A promotion they have at the moment is $100 dollars off a Mac with a student I.D. So the 21.5" i5 iMac would be a little over 1000. Is this a good choice for both the camera I'm using and the plans I have?

Also, if anyone has purchased from Best Buy can they sway me on whether to get their coverage service?

Steve Fenstermacher's picture
Plus Member

Go with Windows PC, like Asus, HP, Sony, etc. I think you have more choices of NLEs, etc.

I purchased my HP desktop from Best Buy a few years back and got the three year protection. During that time they would not honor any components that failed - DVD, wireless keyboard (never worked out of the box, but I waited a year to attempt to use it), and memory card reader. I have purchased two flat screen TVs from them and they did honor the repairs on those.

I have had experience with Dell's on-site technicians (they came to my classroom to repair laptops and computers in front of my students) and I am very pleased with them.

composite1's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Cory,

Before you put yourself in hock buying a computer on credit, ask yourself these questions: