You are here

Newb trying to decide between FCP APP or Sony Vegas

fuccisphotos's picture

I'm a wedding photographer who has just started using her 5dMKii to make promotional videos and vlog entries on my blog. With some of my past projects in iMovie, there would be blockyness in the blacks and grays. So I went to apple and they told me the blockyness problem I was having was that iMovie was unavoidably compressing my files from my 5DmkII output during the transcoding, they suggested switching to Final Cut Pro. In asking a few of the videographer's I've worked with, none of them have mentioned working with FCP. They are either working with Vegas or Premier. FCP is considerably cheaper at $299 (although I see I may need motion and compressor if any of my clients ask for DVD movies with pictures). Sony Vegas Pro is $599.95. And Premiere Pro is $799. Vegas and Premiere have to have something that FCP doesn't for that difference in price right? I'm just wondering for me as a wedding photographer, who is only using this to do the occasional video editing, does it make sense to spend the extra $300-400 bucks. I don't want to buy FCP and then realize, d'oh actually in a month or two of using FCP I realize I want/need Vegas or Premiere. So for those who have used them all, what do you think of them and the differences between them? Also what's the learning curve like? I'll be coming from iMovie, which I have pushed to its editing limits, and I know CS4 Photoshop well. Any suggestions are much appreciated!

Rob Grauert's picture

It's a shame you didn't ask this a few days ago. Adobe Premiere Premium was only $850 up until yesterday (it's usually $1700). You would have had everything you'd need for quite some time.