You are here

New to Biz

NorthwoodsOutdoors's picture

Hello All

I am pretty new to the filming seen and am trying to get involve in Outdoor Filming. In your opinions what is the best MiniDV Cam for outdoor low light filming. Also a user freindly editing software?

DaveArthur's picture

You didn't mention what your budget might be. That piece of the puzzle often tells more about your possible camera choices than any other detail. Assuming that you want the most from the least amount of money, I'd look to the Canon HV20 or the new HV30. They will run you less than $1,000 (you may find the 20 for a lot less). They both will record both standard definition and High Def onto a MiniDV tape. They rely on a single CMOS imaging chip, but give very good image quality. Low-light performance of the CMOS is okay, but quite good for the price. Your limitation might be in the lens, but again, for the price it is a solid camera.

For editing, I recommend a prosumer level package that has a professional upgrade path. Two good options are Sony Vegas Platinum and Apple Final Cut Express 4. Both will give you ease of use, remarkable power, and you have the option of moving to a professional version as your business grows. You will also be quite at home on the pro versions once you develop your skills on the prosumer solutions. You might also look at Premier as a possibility.

Good luck,

Dave Arthur

www.HowToVideoPRO.com

3PinesPro's picture

Most of my filming involves outdoor subjects with equestrian events being the focus. I use (and love) the Sony HDR-FX1. I've used it for more than a year is some very demanding conditions. It's gone through rain, wind, lots of dust and dirt, and just keeps on going. I've also used it a great deal in indoor arenas and have been very satisfied with its performance there, as well. Color reproductions and low light handling is superb. All-in-all a great camera.