You are here

Need help with video editing...Thanks.

fromusofa's picture

I am fairly new in video editing and I want to make a DVD with best image/resolution/audio quality from 48 small *.avi clips ranging from 53 to 55 MB in size and about 5 to 5.5 minutes long play time. They all have about 29.70 seconds of startup routine that I want to cut off from all except one clip that would be the first clip. Currently the combined size of all the clips is about 2.5 GB but, I think, after removing first 29.70 seconds of video from 47 of them would probably make the total data size of 2.3 GB?so how can I edit and burn these clips in more time-efficient way on a 4.7 GB DVD-R which I can play on a regular DVD player to watch on a TV? Can somebody help me with this small project? Thanks in Advance!

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

It all really depends on your current hardware/software war chest. MOST editing programs should allow for the ingesting/import of your clips, then allow for removal of the one-minute startup before exporting/burning to a DVD.

Even a simple Mac-based system using iMOVIE and iDVD would allow you to do this, placing a fade-in/fade-out or other spacer between the sequences, even insert chapter markers that would carry with the project when you exported to iDVD.

This assumes that you can work with .avi in iMovie. I don't know the answer to that specifically. But it is my understanding that MOST editing programs do work with .avi files. Others who know more, am I wrong or can you expand on this thread for From US of A?

Dunno that any of the possible processes would be particularly MORE/LESS time-efficient (read, automatic) but it wouldn't take me very long provided I knew how to use whatever editing program at my disposal.

At any rate, 2.3 GB would/should fit nicely at a high quality setting on a 4.7 GB single-layer disk.

fromusofa's picture