You are here

Need Help Deciding on What to Buy

GerikBensing's picture

I am a complete newbie to the world of video making, but I want to get my hands dirty. I'm looking to buy a camcorder under $1,000 that will meet my needs.

Basically, I'd buy a cheap video camera and just start making movies - but I can't see the point. I might make this amazing video which will be totally worthless because of the poor video quality. So, that's what I'm going for. I want really good video quality, but I don't need all sorts of extra features.

What I'm leaning towards right now is the Canon Vixia HF10, from the reviews I've read it's pretty solid. It can record in high-definition and seems pretty simple to use. The bad manual focus seems like a big downfall though, but the fact that it uses flash memory (from what little I know) seems to be pretty nice.

Can you all try and give me a direction in what I should go with? I know nothing about camcorders, so keep the terminology simple if you could.

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Hey Gerik,

Current issue of MacWorld says the HF10 "shoots stellar high def, works smoothly with Mac computers, and includes microphone jack and accessory shoe." Says the cons are: "clumsy to handle, still image colors not that great, and battery life leaves something to be desired." Estimated price is $800. It has a 16GB & SD card slot. HOWEVER, it produces AVCHD and I'm not so sure that is an acceptable tradeoff for someone wanting to shoot professionally in case he gets something GREAT.

MacWorld gives it a 3.5 mice rating which, I guess is OK.

My recommendation, based on a LOT of input received from a LOT of guys in the business on other venues and close acquaintences, is the Canon HV30. Shoots HDV, uses MiniDV tape and sells for about the same price. Guys I know are using it for a second or third backup, and/or HDV feeder unit to their editing systems.