You are here

Need advice re: Mac monitors for video editing

Chris Harmon's picture

Hello,

I just bit the bullet for an Intel (Nehalem) Mac Pro and need some advice on monitors.

The Mac came with the standard DVI/mini port combo card. I need to be able to do my Final Cut and photo editing work, so here are a few questions.

1. Is one large LCD 24" monitor better than two 20"? What do you prefer and why? I am only looking at monitors that support 1080 and up, and have HDMI, VGA,andDVI conectors.

2. The Mac monitors seem too expensive for the features. What other brands work well?

3. Connections. Is a DVI connection enough? Or do I need to add a card for HDMI? And what about connecting to a regular interlaced TV/Monitor? Everyone says I need to check my work out put there too, but what do I need? Something with s-video?

Help- I am confused and am have enough on plate just learning the OS and NLE. And I am just starting out so I am not flush with cash, but will invest in worthwhile equipment.

Thanks.

Chris

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Everything you need to connect two 23" monitors will either have come with your Mac Pro, or in the box of your Acer model H233H flat screen monitors (often $250 or less per monitor, if you shop around). When the Nehalem Macs came out I took advantage of the cost savings to purchase the previous Mac Pro 8-core model and have been happy and pleased with my monitors.