You are here

Need Advice PC Laptop for video editing

revbill's picture

Hello everyone

I'm new to this forum. Need your advice on the best pc laptop to edit semi-pro videos. I am a church pastor and do tons of videography. I have a budget of $2,000 for the hardware. Am using Pinnacle Studio Ultimate 14 and/or Sony Vegas HD(not the pro software) for edits. Suggestions for laptop? Toying with either an ASUS or MSI but need help as to configuration of the hardware. Thanks for all your advice. Can't go Mac hardware because my church is pc orientated and need to use the laptop for MS office stuff too.

Rev. Bill

XTR-91's picture

You can find plenty of laptops for 2.8GHz. Just make sure the RAM's at least 2GB. 7200rpm hardrive is required.

pseudosafari's picture

Get a desktop instead unless youhave to have that portability. (Just my two cents--you'll get more bang for your buck.) That being said, I had one (very limited) bad experience with ASUS. MSI, on the other hand, has been good to me. Important features would include the biggest screen you can get, at least 4GB RAM, a quad-core processor and a big hard drive. If you're not committed to a brand, consider this Samsung:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834131116

If you're not familiar with newegg, give them a look-see. You'll be surprised at how cheap some things are.

Good luck!

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator