You are here

Need advice configuring studio with greenscreen

NormanWillis's picture

Hello.

I have been reading as much as I can on greenscreen and techniques, and I watched the tutorials already. I see some other greenscreen threads out there, but I don't want to hijack anyone else's thread, and when I got too far afield on a different thread, I was advised to start a new one.

I am brand new to video editing. I am training up on Vegas Pro 8.1 and Boris RED. I am hoping to get into Adobe CS4 just as soon as I get Vegas and Boris all figured out (OK...so it may be Adobe CS5 or 6 by that time...lol). My goal is to make some lightly composited teaching and training videos for use in our organization. (I just want to composite things in order to make my points more interesting, and to make the illustrations easier to understand).

Camera is a Sony HDR-FX1 recording in HDV (1080i) with a juicedLink CX-431 pre-amplifier (to quiet the onboard Sony pre-amps). Microphone is a DPA-4088B headset connecting to the juicedLink by XLR connector with 12V phantom power. B-roll camera is Sony HDR-HC1 (which will also be used to feed in the tape).

My question here is about configuring my studio. Basically, my bedroom is going to have to double as "the studio." By 're-arranging the furniture' I can get about twelve feet in between theteleprompter and the greenscreen. Ceiling height is about ten feet.I have six Lowel Tota halogen light stands with umbrellas for diffusion. The green screen is a nicefoam screen (www.eefx.com), so it should not give off a lot ofoverspill.

The light bulbs I have on hand are these:

300W EHZ 2900K
500W FCZ 3000K
750W EMD 3200K