You are here

Need advice and reccomendations on set-up

southernhunter's picture

Hi all, I have been filming outdoor turkey hunts for a few years now and have several hunts that I am wanting to edit and make a DVD to give to friends and possibly pass out at tradeshows to hopefully "get noticed". Ultimately it would be a dream to be able to produce and sell some DVD's to help pay for my "hobby" which is hunting and filming my hunts. I have a Canon XH-A1

I am in need of some advice and guidance as I am very un-educated on the editing/production part. I am a fast learner and intuitive thinker, but this is an area that I am just about to get involved in.

I am looking at the Mac's and trying to decide on what would be a great set-up for me. I don't have to have the best of the best, but I do want to have more than what is sufficient for me to start to get involved in learning and editing and producing my videos.

I am trying to decide between a MacbookPro or the MacPro and any variations of each that would be reccomended. Info on such things as extra monitor, monitor/screen size, memory, graphics, external storage, external keyboard if I go with notebook, connections, etc. Also, I was thinking of FinalCut Express for starters unless it is recommended that I go with FinalCut Pro.

Any guidance and advice is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance for helping a newbie. I am sure I will have many more questions along my journey.

BRoach25's picture