You are here

Narration Philosophy?

mantic59's picture

Greetings-- I am not a video pro but I sort of fell into making a bunch of videos about how to shave (don't laugh, I have over 1 million total views on my Youtube channel). I use Foodtv's "Good Eats" show as inspiration and guidance and I see the host, Alton Brown, narrate various cooking guides both on camera and off. Are there any "rules of thumb" regarding on-camera vs. off-camera narration?

Rob Grauert's picture

It's important with off-camera narration that you write for a listener, not a reader. Don't try to sound all sophisticated with big, complex sentences. Keep it short, sweet and to the point. Write your narration, then re-write it with the intention of using lots of verbs. And always speak in present tense...at least 95% of the time.

Aspyrider's picture

Speak as if you are talking to an 8th grade level. Also, a tip I learned in radio years ago. Get a toy stuffed bear or something like that and set it in front of you. Talk to the bear. LOL

Yeah, talk to it as if it's the person you are speaking to. The bear represents your audience. When you talk, speak as if you are talking to one person, not a crowd. Because you are, you are talking to the one viewer or listener. Robgrauert gave good advice above. He's dead on it. ;-)

J.

mantic59's picture

This is all excellent advice, but I guess I wasn't very clear in the parent message. I'm trying to get a handle on when/why to narrate in front of the camera vs. narrate off-camera with some other visual.

Rob Grauert's picture

Maybe you can refresh my memory, but I don't recall ever watching a video where someone actually narrates on camera. They are a host. So if you are doing a production that requires someone to take the viewer and show them around or something (like Mike Rowe in Dirty Jobs) then hire a host.