You are here

My first "professional" short film- thoughts?

TheAnthonyYa's picture

Hi, I'm a student filmmaker who's new to these forums. I've been making shitty little short videos for two years, but at the end of the last school year I worked with a production theater next to my school to make this sketch. And I'm just looking for opinions on it.

When I watch it, my only change would be to add more jokes. The video is basically one long joke, but if I could change it I would add more jokes in general. But yeah, thank you for any criticism or whatnot!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tVizgS6843M

MediaFish's picture

Not to be too harsh but - what makes this a professional short film? Did some one pay you to film and produce it? Again, not to be harsh but you state - "When I watch it, my only change would be to add more jokes" - really? What about sound, color balance, lighting, acting, the truck engine that starts out of nowhere as Man Man leaves on his scooter, the female coughing at the end of the joke or her bad wig she is wearing? My thought is that it needs a lot of work - sorry I am sure that wasn't what you wanted to hear but you asked.

I am really curious though why you think this is\should be considered a professional film.

Jeff Media Fish Productions

composite1's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Anthony,

This is by no means 'Pro'. YouTube Special, definitely. You need lights for your interior scenes, at minimum reflectors or bounce cards for your exteriors, consider doing voice-overs for your vocal tracks and lots more camerawork. Student film at best right now.

On the other hand, a clever idea with lots of potential. Do as Grinner said, 'keep shooting'. Push the envelope with this thing. Believe it or not, 'Average' has a lot of lattitude and you can make this thing the hilarious series it could be, if you go out to the edges with your writing. Pro? Not yet. But the potential is there so you're ahead in the game.