You are here

Multiple Webcams?

masada's picture

Hi. This question deals more with webcams than anything else but it might apply to this forum. As you may soon suspect, I know very little about videography!

I am a musician who is currently giving a couple of my students lessons via the internet. It works rather well but my one gripe is using only one camera. This means I need to get closer to the cam with my instrument to show a specific hand position in detail, but then I need to move back so the student would be able to see proper body positioning, etc.

What I would LOVE to do is broadcast the lessons with 2-3 webcams going at the same time and then have some sort of device that would allow me to switch camera views whenever I hit a button. However, I obviously don't understand how to go about doing this. What kind of device could I use to make this happen? Is it even possible? I'm pretty certain that I wouldn't be able to make a "split-screen" show up on someone else's' computer, considering I use either Skype or MSN Messenger for the lessons. This is why I think some gadget like this would be better. Perhaps there is some software that would allow this to work to?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The shooter's picture

I know you can do that when you edit. The other way is to have a switcher. This is a machine that swichtes from different feeds. It's used for broadcast and live TV. But they are very expensive. A setup would be possible, but I don't think you will want to pay the price. You can judge by yourself.

http://www.panasonic.com/business/provideo/cat_mixers_studio.asp

Other than that, the only solution would to have more than one computer and then the student wil open more then one skype or msn (like if it would be differnt people.)

Hope I've been helpful. Good luck,

Antoine

masada's picture

So is it of consensus that something like a USB web cam switcher or even switcher software doesn't exsist yet?