You are here

Which camera to buy? Already have Canon 60D

kess's picture

Hi there,

I'm new to this place and have read over a bunch of different topics on this site. Right now I'm in the process of buying a new camera but, I'm having trouble picking one out.

I will be focusing on weddings. My background is video and have been shooting with reg video cameras in the past. I currently own a 60D and have taken great footage with it as well as some choppy garbage.

My thought was to get a video camera for my main stuff like ceremony and speeches. Run a wireless mic set up with it as well. With my 60D use it for broll.

Now with that said I'm not sure which camera I should buy to partner up with the 60D???? I need some help.

I was set on the Canon XF100, however CF cards do cost $ and you don't get a long record on them.Then I looked at Sony NX5 (I like the file base) and the Sony V1 and Z5.

So, I'm a little worries that the colours and stuff won't match up great. Also I can not make up my mind if I should go with tape or file base.

I will be editing on a imac, new model when they start to offer them.

Can anyone give me some advice or let me know what its like mixing brands of cameras up?

Thanks everyone

rkaag's picture

I just purchased a Panasonic X900M camcorder and am quite pleased so far.  It will shoot at 1080p 60p and comes with 32GB built in (no initial outlay of cash for storage) but it has an expansion slot for cards if you need more.  You can always offload the content to a computer and it can write directly to dvd if you have a portable unit.

The x900m is a 3 sensor cam and can take 16MP stills at best, but I usually go 14MP to get the 16:9 ratio.  It has 5.1 sound mics internal with external stereo mic and headphone jacks.

I'm still experimenting, but I hope this helps.

-Rob

kess's picture