You are here

Mini DV(HDV), HDD, or Solid-State P2 ???

freddie's picture

What is the best solution for shooting video now? Mini DV, Hard Drive Disk, or the Solid-State P2?
And what HD camera is the best for around 2,000-3,000? Should I keep filming with Mini DV or Switch??
I went to Best Buy a few days ago looking for a Mini DV Camera and they didn't have any and the lady working that department told me I was old school and needed to up grade to what they had the HDD and Solid-State. I couldn't believe that. My Canon GL2 was worth more than all of those there!(even tho i know the price of that cam is no longer the same but still). I'm not a professional but can someone please help me with some REAL answers.

composite1's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Freddie,

Your first mistake was going to Best Buy for a camera. Their job is to sell you something. Preferably something they'll make a profit on. Mini DV tape is cheap so they aren't going to make a profit on it unless you buy it in bulk which they don't sell.

I constantly answer this question for posters and the answers are the same; What do you plan on doing with the footage? How are you financing your equipment purchases? What is your current skill level technically and knowledge wise?

If you are an amateur stay away from professional gear! The learning curve is high and unless you plan on dedicating a tremendous amount of time, money and effort to learning how to properly utilize pro gear fuggeddaboutit! On the other hand I strongly recommend miniDV for amateurs. Tape is cheap, easy to store and archive and digitizing footage will teach you how to pick out usable shots and patience while editing.