You are here

just got $1,000 help me pick a camcorder please

kenjiffy's picture

okay so im a music producer and im interested in buying a videocamera to shoot music videos and maybe make some money on the side .i don't know to much about video cameras but im looking for something that might come with a video editing software so i wont have to pay for this separatly what do you guys think ? well my budget in around $1,000 dollers . im looking for something that can gives me the best professionally quality for that amount of money . If you guys could give me some ideas that will be great .TY .

birdcat's picture
Plus Member Moderator

For $1000 total budget you won't get new professional equipment or even new prosumer level either. But that doesn't mean you can't do professional looking video.

You can keep software costs down to < $100 by going with one of the "home" versions of non-linear editors (Sony Vegas Movie Studio, Premiere Elements, etc...).

As for the camera, since you want to do music videos, look for one that has the ability to hook up to an external microphone (you don't need XLR input, later on you can buy an adapter for that) and one that does well in low light situations.

Consider used equipment from reputable sources (Craig's List and eBay can give you the value of diamonds or camel poop so caveat emptor at those two sources) to hold prices down.

Maybe a used Sony VX1000 or VX2000/VX2100 if you can get it for your budget (not HD but a great pro camera that still is in use by many wedding videographers).

Good luck.

Bruce Paul 7Squared Productions http://www.7squared.com

composite1's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Kenjiffy,