You are here

How Would you Build Your Editing Suite #2 - Same situation different case.

armflo's picture

Hi there guys,

I have just finished my FCP intro-course and have bought a laptop, camera, and software. I want to get very serious to make my just started editing profession as a full time job and part time by now.Be aware I am a beginner on your editing world. Apologise for my not well terminology.

I want to set my home based semi-professional NLE suite that can be used for editing weddings, personalized videos, television quality products, and authoring internet material. I have a budget of $4000 to complete the suite but I do not mind extend it if its necessary. Budget only for the camera would be $3500.

Could you please help me to continue setting up my video editing suite starting from the point that I already own a 17 MacBook Pro 2.5GHZ, 4Gb Ram, 320Gb, 5400 rpm, Final Cut Studio 2, and a Sony handycam HDR-Sr11 60gb HD Camera?

DEFINING THE RIGHT FORMAT.

I want to start making high quality videos of extreme sport events like mountain bike races (Downhill and Cross country), paragliding, skate board, wake board, motorbike sports (Enduro). I am a competitor of downhill/X-country at an expert level (for 12 years) and Enduro-Motor biking. I have also done paragliding for 12 years. I want to shoot and edit weddings, parties or small conferences and only edit broadcast. To be more specific, I want to go to the motorbike or mountain bike event and shoot from the ground with a good camera (non-professional) for it and then edit and make a summary of the documentary/summary of the event and burn it on a DVD (currently, most commercial format). Occasionally Ill use helmet cameras to record the tracks (while riding). I also want to go to the wedding shoot on the most popular resolution for weddings (I suppose these are HD or SD) then edit it and create a professional looking product for the client.