You are here

HOW MUCH SHOULD I CHARGE FOR A MUSIC VIDEO

gniklaw's picture
Hi
I shot a couple of music videos for an artist that I'm working with to sharpen my video making skills and now I'm getting calls from other artist to shoot their videos and I don't know where to start as far as formulating a fair price for all parties involved.

Please Help

matjusm's picture
This is like asking "how much does it cost to make a film" because the answer can be pretty much anything. I'm no expert on the subject but I do know that prices vary from about 10$ that your next door neighbor might pay you all the way to 1 million $ for the next Britney Spears clip.

gniklaw's picture

matjusm Wrote:

This is like asking "how much does it cost to make a film" because the answer can be pretty much anything. I'm no expert on the subject but I do know that prices vary from about 10$ that your next door neighbor might pay you all the way to 1 million $ for the next Britney Spears clip.

Yea I know theres so many variables thats why I'm having such a hard time with this because most of my clients would be independent artist who don't have a lot of money but at the same time I've done 3 videos and I know that there's alot of work involved with making a good music video. How do you come up with a price? Do you charge by the hour for shooting, editing and so on or do you come with different packages like a $1000, $3000 or $5000 package. I would love to do this so I can buy more equipment but I want to give people a fair price that won't scare them away but at the same time be worth my time and effort.

I'm very skilled in Vegas video
I shoot my videos with a Canon Gl2
I have a nice floor to ceiling green screen setup in my basement 9X12 with lights

How much should that be worth to someone who wants me to shoot their video?

OnaRoll's picture