You are here

How can I add a scoreboard and/or running clock to a video

paye987654's picture

Hi Forum,

I'm a novice videographer and my daughter's record soccer games on the weekends. I would like to add a scoreboard and running clock to the video. Does anyone have any advice on how to do this? I have search online and one suggestion was to use subtitles. Is that possible? Would it have to be done frame by frame? I also read that it would require a re-encode of the video which would degrade the video quality. Thanks for any help.

D0n
D0n's picture

I think imovie on the mac has a score card feature.... as for the running clock, beats me... might be easier to have a camera on an actual clock during the game, then use a "picture in picture" effect after synching the two video sources in post.....

raywhit's picture

I am also a novice so there may be more elegant ways than the solution I will propose but here is my two cents. Let me tell you that I currently work with Sony Vegas - but I'm sure most of the other NLEs have similar functionality

First, create a generated text and erase the text so that it is blank. Then set the length in the generated media to be length of your count down. Now stretch out the media on the timeline to match this length. (I use "edit details" and just type in under "length").

Now apply "media fx" to the clip. (Right click and choose "media fx"). Choose the Sony Timecode effect and apply it. There are several choices here. Setup the size and position, and you can choose "NTSC drop frame" for a truly accurate timed count down.

Last, apply a velocity envelope to the generate media and set it to -100 speed. You are done.

As for the scores that seems easy enough just usingthe title/text functionof your editing program.

Hope this helps

birdcat's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Lee had it correct - Here is a step by step with two ways.