You are here

HMC40 Workflow Help For a Total Newb

skatethefly's picture

TOTAL Newbie here. Any help is appreciated.

I'm learning to shoot video for web based purposes and just purchased the Panasonic HMC40. I'm trying to determine the best (most efficient) workflow for the equipment I have at my disposal. I have a MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz Core 2 Duo machine, with 4 gb of RAM. I'm attempting to use Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 for editing.

In trying to edit the .mts files, i've found the playback quality to be really choppy. Is my best option to use the Mac MTS Converter program to convert the files to AVI, mpeg4, or similar first? Then import into Premiere for editing? How does this process work? Is there a better way?

Why was it so easy in iMovie '08 vs. more pro editing programs?

Thanks!

CraftersOfLight's picture
Plus Member

HMC40 records AVCHD codec. AVCHD is a very processor intensive codec because of its compression format. It is quite possible you don't have enough processor bandwidth to manage it. You could try the different renders you suggested on the same short clip and see which one gives you the best looking playback. Keep in mind each re-rendering takes away a little on the resolutions.

Some of the HMC40s came with a Canopus' Edius Neo 2 Booster editing software from Grass Valley. I have been impressed with the way it is handling the native AVCHD and its ability to scrub very smoothly through the clips forwards and backwards. Maybe give it a try to see if there is any improvement?

Life is not a guided tour nor a destination. It is a journey. Take the time to enjoy your family, friends and surroundings. Build memories. Share experiences. Travel at sight speed not light speed. (C)

Rob Grauert's picture

"Keep in mind each re-rendering takes away a little on the resolutions."