You are here

Hi, need beginner camera recomendations?

theplasticbag's picture

Hi, i'm new to all these and i've always loved making short videos for myself.
But, being pushed towards making a career choice near the end of highschool i'd like to look into
film making.
and if not for a career then, as a hobby.
but, right now i have no where to start.
what types of cameras are good for beginners?
should i start off with a dslr or a dedicated camcorder?
which ones?
anything under $1000 please. (:
thank you!

EarlC's picture
Plus Member Moderator

Virtually any of the Canon Vixia series: HF R300 at under $300; HF M500 at $525 (Amazon prices as of today) are good starter cameras and well under your max budget. You would do well to look into a number of others in the Vixia line, running from $300 or so to about $1,200 street prices. A good number of folks on these forums have expressed satisfaction with the Canon Vixia line.

I'm sure JVC, Sony and Panasonic all have something similar in options/pricing but Canon glass (the lens) quality remains a deal maker IMHO.

Rick Crampton's picture

" should i start off with a dslr or a dedicated camcorder? "

A DSLR rigrequires too many doo-dads to be able to do video. If you're serious about learning to make films, you don't need to be bogged down with cumbersome hardware. I might be wrong ( frequently am ), but I believe the mostbang for your buckwould be a quality camcorder between $ 500 and $ 1000

Rick Crampton

Moab Man's picture
Plus Member

My post seems to have ended up on the cutting room floor as its no longer here but I see the others still.

theplasticbag's picture

i'm not sure what happened to it but i would love to hear what recommendations you have to say.
would you mind posting it once more?

Moab Man's picture
Plus Member