You are here

HDV vs. Mini DV - 2 years from now

chrisColorado's picture

If you were already planning on buying a camera in 2011, would you plan on getting HDV or Mini DV? I'm in this position and would like some opinions.

I'm a pro videographer with several short films and other projects under my belt. I've used Mini DV, HDD and Flash Media and after much study, I'm looking into buying a tape camera in two years. I hate tape, so why would a consider buying a camera that uses it? Simply because most people consider tape to be the weapon of videographers, and if someone comes to me with a tape to be captured, I'd like to do it, rather than sending a customer to someone else.

There are some considerations for this question. Perhaps tape won'tbe the thing2 years from now. Maybe Flash Media or HDD will be the popular format, maybe something new we haven't thought of yet. I personally prefer Flash Media to all other recording options.

What is your opinion? Thanks! Chris

NormanWillis's picture

Hi Chris.

So you wanna get Flash or HDD, but don't want to lose the business if someone comes to you with a tape?

Is that right?

Norman

brandon0409's picture

I can only assume this is a retorical question to get us thinking since I know you are a very experienced videographer.

I figure, with the rate of technoligal advancments, especially in the way of video and data storage, capacities will be so high on flash media that it will be possible to record uncompressed good quality SD video to a single flash driv chip.

One MiniDV tape is from 12 to 15 GB. I believe that currently, the highest capacity is 8 GB possibly 12GB.

The only problem I have with HDD's and Flash drives is that EVERY SINGLE bit of video that is recorded to them is Compressed. There is no uncompressed versions of flash camcorders.

I think that the cam companies should be developing toward the uncompresed video.

birdcat's picture
Plus Member Moderator