You are here

HD camcorder to VHS

manny's picture

<span style="font-family: arial; font-size: small;"><span style="border-collapse: collapse; font-size: 13px;">

First off thanks for taking the time to read through my question.I am a noob to video editing and so pardon my ignorance.I own a HD camcorder (Sony HDR SR11) that records in the AVCHD format.

I made a documentary for a contest that requires submission in -"standard VHS in either NTSC or PAL/SEACAM formats". I am not sure how to convert my HD video to these formats. How would I approach this? Would I be getting better quality with a (cheaper?) SD camcorder rather than trying to downconvert the HD video?

Also, if I need to burn the HD video onto a regular DVD so that itplays on non-hd televisions - how would I approach that?

Any help would be appreciated.

</span></span>

TDedmonSBP's picture

what program do you use to edit? The new Adobe CS4 collection comes with an encoder that will transcode just about any format into any other. I would look for a video converter that you can specify the framerate and image size and go from therre.

zoobie's picture

Just call your local lab/video shop and ask them to transfer your doc to VHS. What's the prize? A new VHS camera?

Another world's first! - www.BuskerAlley.com - Busker HD on the web!
In Production - Busker Alley - The Movie!
Want to make a small fortune in videography? Start with a large fortune!

TDedmonSBP's picture

listen to zoobie, not me. That was better advice. But similarly, I am curious what contest would still be running with VHS.

manny's picture

Thanks for all your replies.I am submitting to a contest in Singapore.Also, we were planning on making something for the Chicago underground film festival for next year.Their guidelines - 1/2" (standard VHS in either NTSC or PAL/SEACAM formats) videocassette or NTSC DVD.I had a vhs camcorder before and I used imovie for editing. This is my first HD camcorder and hence the confusion.