You are here

Grainy footage after exporting my FCD video

ccorwin's picture

Hi Everyone....I'm new to the video world so please bear with me...there's a lot to learn! I have recently agreed to help a friend create a 10-12 minute marketing video from a lot of footage that I didn't shoot. I know the video is m2ts format and I converted to m4v using iSkysoft on my Mac and am using FCE 4 to edit. I've had no problem editing segments, still images, adding text overlays, etc., but when I export to 1280 x 720HD or 1280 x 720 16:9, the footage is grainy. Here's my question....did I do something incorrectly when I converted the video initially to m4v or am I doing something wrong when I export. My friend would like this video to play on 42-47" HD tv's....what can I do so the footage isn't grainy? Looks GREAT on my 17 and 21" computer screens but it goes downhill from there!

Again...thanks in advance for putting up with me and my 'newbie' questions!

Luis Maymi's picture
Plus Member

"...when I export to 1280 x 720HD or 1280 x 720 16:9"

Can you specify a little more? What video format did you export to and what codec did you use?

For example: Video Format: Quicktime; Codec: DVCPRO HD 1080p30

Is the original footage (m2ts) progressive or interlace?

-

"The meaning of a movie are the characters, the life of the movie is the music, but the magic is in the editing" –  http://www.lomaymi.com

Woody Sanford's picture
Plus Member

What are you playing it on that it looks grainy? I would have to agree with Sargehero, If it is going to be played on DVD media then it will be SD. It could be in the conversion or it could be in what you are exporting, are you burning DVD or Blue Ray and what are you using to burn them.

Rob Grauert's picture

Your first mistake is converting m2ts files to m4v. Convert to Apple Intermediate Codec before you edit.

"when I export to 1280 x 720HD or 1280 x 720 16:9, the footage is grainy."