You are here

first time music video

screamkw's picture

Hey Everyone!!!

So sorry, if this is already posted somewhere or is under the wrong heading...

Okay so I'm an actor and photographer, but I am directing a music video for the first time. It's a group of 4 girls, one of which is a close friend of mine (kind of a pop feeling song). I don't doubt myabilitiesto execute it well, but some "experience" questions have come up in my mind and the answers are only in experience which I don't have so here I am...

Shoot Details:

Theme: The elements. 4 locations a forest, a girl in the lake, a meadow with horses, and a beach with fire pockest in the sand.

Length: 3 days

Budget: Max $5000

Shooting Equipment: 2 Nikon d7000s, a merlin (or some other steady cam), a jib arm, a dslr dolly, maybe 2-3 lights (need advice on that), and a ring light

crew: me and a friend

Questions lol...There's an element of mystery to it so we want low light therefore, dusk and dawn...my concern is the lack of time I will have to get the shots done...any thoughts on how to maximize my time? (regarding light)

2. In case it runs into the peak of the day, what can i do to make the daylight match that of dusk/dawn.

3. Any suggestions on lens filters?

4. Focusing...everything manual I prefer it...though I'm concerned about the camera on the arm, should I rent a focusing device for that? Or maybe just use a small aperture? Because the shot will probably be of the 4 of them and will be from a distance...

Lastly, the girl in charge is covering all costs and I'm trying to limit their costs, I'd rather put the money into the production and make it look really good, but I know I should get paid something lol...how much for my friend and I? Don't get too complex about that, just throw some numbers at me (final numbers or percentage) p.s. we won't be editing...

birdcat's picture

> ??p.s. we won't be editing...