You are here

First client meeting (need some advice)

daxalain5's picture

Hello there! Hope everyone is doing well! I've been reading a lot of posts here and I have certainly learned a lot!I have a client meeting coming up in two weeks and I just want to get some advice from some seasoned videographer/pros out here. This newbie here would appreciate it a lot! :)

To give you guys an idea, here's an overview of the project:

1. Interview 3-5 people and ask them a series of questions like what they do and why they chose this business center (the client).

2. Do a second video and feature the owner giving a tour of the building, talking about his vision for it, his favorite parts of the downtown area, and letting his personality shine through in order to display the man behind the project.

Now I need to figure out what kind of questions to ask on the first initial client meeting to understand what their goals are for the video. I did some research and I ended up with this series of questions:

1. Do they provide the graphics or logos that I can use for the video.

2. Do they want some animation/bumpers for the project.

3. Showing of roughs? Revisions? Deadline?

4. Steadicam shots? (Business owner giving a tour of the building or just do b-rolls of the place?)

5. Music? (Did some research here and it would cost them $299 to get a music with a streaming license for website, Facebook, and youtube use. Would get more expensive if they want the video to be used for broadcast and it would be around $1-2k). I went to themusicbed.com for the music and licensing.

6. Ask them what kind of mood they want for the project? (that dictates my choice of music for the project)

7. Anything else? :)

I only have that so far and I haven't really thought of how much I should charge them. I just want to do a good job on this but also wants to get paid fairly.

Here are my equipments by the way:

Canon t2i & t3i

24-70 L, 50 mm 1.4, 50-250mm, 11-16mm (for wide/establishing shots)