You are here

Filming Church Service

mcgofy's picture
I want to start shooting our church service on Sunday. I am a newbie! I purchased 2 Canon XHA1's, and I have a couple of nice quality tripods. That's about it!

I had planned on getting an audio feed from the sound board, pre fader, so that whatever the sound guy is doing, or not doing, will not affect me. I am uncertain on a few key points, (to say the least) and I would appreciate ALL the advice I can get.

First, should I record sound on both cameras?
How can I set the two camera's up so that I can monitor what both are doing?
Do I just shoot two independent cassetes, and then merge them together in editing?
Should I have bought the HGA1's, and then would they have synched together? Would that have made it easier, or higher quality. Would it justify the nearly DOUBLE price?

I have always been a PC guy. (please don't hate me!) So I was going to purchase Premiere Pro. Do you think that is a good choice, or would Elements do as well for my needs.

Please give me any other advice. I going to buy a quality shotgun mic for one camera, while I went through the board with the other. That way I thought that if something went wrong with the board, I would have a decent audio track as backup.

Well, that's it. Thanks in advance for your help

kevin

SpencerStewart's picture
Hi,

Here's some basic advice.
My church has a three camera set-up. We get audio from the sound guy, and mix the video live, via a video switcher.We use the video switcher to cut between angles. The output of the video switcher is projected, and also recorded.
The recording we save and post online.

By using a video switcher, we don't have to spend time in post syncing the footage and cutting it.

Here's an article about video for worship:

http://www.videomaker.com/article/13339/

Goodluck!

nosliw's picture