You are here

Film Camera?

UnitedNerds's picture

Oftentimes I feel like we forget where this industry has come from. Myself, being a teenager, I can't really forget because I never experienced it before! Ever since I was young, I have used digital cameras to take pictures and video. Even the tape camera I used was using digital-8 tapes! Even more and more movies are being shot digitally today and yet, I still love the sight of film. Since I am an aspiring filmmaker or editor or whatever I decide down the road, I want to understand the different side of videos and how they used to be made before the major conveniences of the 80s-present came out. There is something about working with film that forces you to think through everything you are doing and is a learning experience to use.

So, I have little knowledge in this area and want to learn more about shooting and editing films the way they were 30 years ago and beyond. I know the cameras used film of different lengths and widths, which were cut together using special machines, and then fed through projectors in order to be seen. I don't really care for learning how it was done by reading, if I wanted that I would go read a Wikipedia article. Besides, art can't really be taught just by reading it.

Anyways, I am coming to you to ask if there are any cheap cameras and equipment that are available and usable on the internet today. What materials would I need in order to shoot, (possibly edit), and view my videos? What would the minimum cost be? Is film equipment today extremely expensive or has the demand died down to lower price? I am looking just for cameras for education and not cinema quality. The more I can play with the better. Where should I look? Is it even worth my time?

shippocaio's picture

PJ, from one aspiring teenager to another, here's my personal opinion: