You are here

External Hard Drive Recommendation?

mbeano's picture

Hello everyone,

I am a new film student (as of now I have only taken theory classes, and yet to take a production class). I am thinking of buying an external hard drive. It has been a really long time since I have touched anything in relation to film or video editing so I am pretty ignorant to alot of the technology as well as the jargon.

I really want to get more into video editing. Unfortunately, due to lack of funds, I have to buy my system in stages, little by little, and cannot afford to have 1 system dedicated solely to editing (for now). So for the time being my laptop will be used for everday stuff as well as learning editing and fufute student video projects. Here are my computer details:

Laptop - Apple MacbookPro 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4G DDR2 SDRAM, and 250G Hard drive, running OSX 10.5.

For now I only have iMovie, but eventually plan on buying Final Cut Pro. So for now I am looking for recommendations on an external hard drive. I know I want at least 1 terabyte of storage. I am also wondering If it is recommended to get 2 separate external hard drives - one for my media, and 1 for everyday stuff. In all I'd like to keep my costs down under $600.

As I am new to all of this any comments on what I need or should be thinking about would be welcome, and all advice would be much appreciated

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Rob Grauert's picture

Well, your computer set up is fine. It's definitely good enough for DV and probably HDV too, although, i wouldn't jump into HD. It's too soon, theres no point, and it won't enhance your learning process of video in anyway. Learn the basics of video with DV first; save yourself the money.