You are here

External Camcorder Mic vs. Portable Audio Field Recorder

functionx2ds's picture

Hi,

I'm a videographer shooting with a Panasonic PV-GS 70, I shoot mostly live bands and loud music concerts. I want to improve the audio quality of my recordings (right now using built in camera mic) but have a dilemma and need your help. I've been researching the different options I have and wanted to know which one you think would be best considreing a budget of $200.

1. Buy an External Mic for Camcorder: Like the Rode SVM or Sennheiser MKE400

Pro's: Would Probably improve my recordings and have shoe mount to go directly on camera. Also I wouldn't need to synch the audio to the video in post-production when editing and that would save me a lot of time (also sometimes it's hard to synch the drums precisely with all the cymbols etc...)

Con's: My camera doesn't have a manual audio control and I'm scared that at high volumes the sound will clip. I can't afford to buy also a beachtek adaptor to regulate the levels going in the camera.
Also I saw some youtube clips of concerts shot with the rode svm and I wasn't too impressed with the sound quality. Also wondering if less expensive mics would do the job?

2. Other option is to buy a Portable Audio Field Recorder like the Zoom H2

Pro's: I can control the levels and adapt depending on the venue size etc...Reviews and audio quality are pretty good. Also have option to record in wav or mp3 format.

Con's: Wouldn't know where to put it (doesn't have shoe mount to go on camera). Not sure if I can connect the output of the zoom H2 to my camera mic in (that would save me the editing process of synching audio to video). If it can't be connected to the camera mic in, I would have to edit and synch the audio to video.