You are here

Exporting After Effects sequence to Premiere project

arthouse's picture

Hi everyone. Can anyone help explain something to me? I'm fairly new to After Effects (CS5) and don't use it often but I'm wanting to include some motion graphics in a project I'm working on. Is it possible to create a sequence in AE, render it and then export it as an HD video file (in whichever format) to then just insert into a Premiere Pro project as just another video clip?

If so, could anyone tell me which settings I would need to begin the After Effects project in if my Premiere project is set for AVCHD 50i PAL, 25fps, upper fields first?

Any help would be fantastic. Thanks!

Jaimie's picture

Hi, I am not familiar with PAL editing, but in the NTSC HD world I do exactly what you are asking about all the time. I simply set the AE rendering to match the Premiere project settings. In my case, that is almost always 1080i.

You can experiment by making really short test clips say, around 30 seconds so they render quickly, and exporting them from AE and importing them into Premiere. You may find that Premiere accepts several types of files, in that case, pick whichever one gives the best results. Don't forget the "Scale to Frame Size" command in Premiere can solve some size problems.

Charles Schultz's picture

Arthouse, use the dynamic linking function in PP it will bring the file in without having to be rendered, it basically is a raw file without any loss of quality. When you open up the dynamic link function, find your After Effects file, click on it and in the box on the right will be the compositions. Click on the one you want to bring in and click ok. In the project panel you will have to double click the comp to open it up in the preview panel and then just insert it over the footage that you want the graphics.

Hope this helps.

S.Arroyo's picture