You are here

DVX100B or VIXIA HF100???? To HD or Not to HD, THAT is the question!

thinkbeinteresting's picture

I'm a video production student as well as a news intern. The news station has told me to buy a camera and start putting together my own packages. I have dreams of shooting a documentary, but I could also possibly get hired by the station. I'm currently training with their shooters as well as in writing/producing. I ended up buying a new dvx100b for $2000 total (we use the original dvx100 at school and I'm familiar with it) but immediately had buyer's remorse. I've heard so many professional opinions I don't know which way to turn. Here's the gist:

1. ME: I'm familiar with the DVX line, like it and it has a good rep (plus I won't deny it looks professional) I would like manual control and XLR inputs but would put up with an audio input used in consumer lines (guessing 1/8 inch)

2. Teacher 1 opinion: "DVX100b is a great camera and HD is changing fast. wait and save for HD."

3. Teacher 2 opinion: "buy a cheaper HD camera and rent a fancy cam when you get hired for gigs - it's all about framing anyway."

4. Stringers use even cheaper canon HD's and their video makes the news

5. opinion 5:"Everyone wants HD, no one will pay for your lame-o SD...SD is over."

6. Opinion 6: "DV tapes take too long to ingest."

7. Teacher 1: "Data/video saved to a Hard Drive and not backed up can be lost."

8. My opinion: one caveat to the dvx is that I would also like to shoot climbing videos on the side and a smaller camera is better for that - though this is a minor side project. Ideally I would like to shoot a short doc for KQED - that sort of thing, plus packages for news.

So, should i return the DVX100B, save my money, get a consumer cam?

Anyone got a better recommendation than the VIXIA?

I'm planning on getting a tripod, mic, etc. no matter what camera I choose. I would really appreciate some guidance, and yes - I'm looking to make money with this camera.