You are here

DSLR vs. Prosumer Camcorder?

robomag's picture

Hello,

I am a student filmmaker and I am about to purchase a new camera. I am debating between a DLSR (something like the Canon 7d) or a prosumer camcorder (like the Canon XA10.) My budget is around $2,000 or so.

I already have a digital camera (the Nikon d80, which is decent) so I am leaning towards a camcorder. I feel that since if I am trying to be a filmmaker and not a photographer a DSLR is not the right direction to go. However, a lot of my friends have and recommend them because they are versatile (in terms of lenses and whatnot.)

Any comments or advice? Is there another brand that I should consider? Do you have any other recommendations for cameras?

(Just a note as far as my post production goes-- I edit on final cut pro 6 and have a 1 TB external hard drive.)

D0n
D0n's picture

I think you answered your own question... if your budget is limited, you're gonna want lighting and sound equipment.... then will you be able to afford lenses for a d-slr?

if not then there is no point in going that direction.

robomag's picture

Hey thanks for the reply--yea I'd be able to get more lenses but that would have to wait a few months...

Do you know anything about the XA10? Do you think it'd be the right investment?

D0n
D0n's picture

this debate has been done, check the forums search..

I have no experience with that camera...

Rob Grauert's picture

If you're a film student and want to work in film/television, I think you are better off getting a real video camera first. The HDSLRs lack many controls and inputs that are standard on video cameras. And whether or not HDSLRs are more versatile is based on the type of shoot you are on. They aren't more versatile in run-n-gun situations. And with new 35mm video cameras becoming more available, HDSLRs are becoming more irrelevant.