You are here

DSLR vs. Prosumer camcorder

djnproduction's picture

Hello, I'm rather new to videography as a business and am currently saving up from some gear via photography and renting video equipment.. I just recently found a group of film makers who use only dslr as video cameras which is a nice option because it's multi use and you get the nice DoF..

So here is my question, I mainly do wedding and party videography and was wondering if the traditional 3ccd prosumer is the best option or would a dslr rig be any good for weddings?

I mean does it really just come down topreference or are there some strong advantages for not using a dslr for this type of shooting?

D0n
D0n's picture

This question keeps popping up.

it raises two more questions for me...

Do you know your business? and do you know your equipment? Which raises one more question for me....if the answer is no to either.... should you be learning by trial and error with other peoples once in a lifetime memories?

the search function in this site will lead to many answers.

here are two questions a person with more Wedding and Camera experience might ask...

The speeches at a wedding reception typically last (how long??? you should know this).... will a dslr record the whole event or will it overheat, shut itself off and kill it's battery? (you should know this).

lecture over.

Truth is you need both cams and you need to know how to use each to it's full capacities...

You are up against guys that have done this for years. You are asking about which camera you should buy... I have six, three video three d-slr, and guys out there with one camera and a cheap price tag are killing the industry and creating a whole generation of Brides that think $300.00 is the going rate then walk around claiming all photogs are rip off artists, because a monkey with a camera could have done a better job at HER wedding....