You are here

Did I waste 4+ years?

zeta1983's picture

I graduated with a degree in "Media Studies" and a concentration in "Production Technology" about a year and a half ago. I learned to edit video and audio, and run a news program. Unfortunately, there was very little in the way of anything that has actually helped me make a living. I thought I was going to become a video editor, but it's hard to edit video when your training consists of one lesson of AVID and one lesson of Final Cut Pro. It was very basic. I'm making less than $6000 a year now because I don't have sufficient skills.

What should I do?

Ken
Ken's picture

zeta1983,

Well, just about everyone and their pet dog wants to be a movie-maker. So it will probably take you a while to build up to a good full-time job as a video editor. Start making contacts. Participating in events like the 48 Hour Film Project is a good start. Even though such events don't pay, they give you both experience and exposure. Also, see if there are professional video organizations near you.

Good luck,

Ken Hull

Jennifer O'Rourke's picture
Plus Member

I felt that way, too, but my education was many moons ago. We did nothing but watch the instructor edit our videos. I wrote a class paper for another teacher on a job I'd like to get as an editor for a new cable TV channel that was just starting up. But the teacher gave me low points because he believed that style of shooting and editing was annoying, no one would watch it and it was a fad and wouldn't last. That cable channel was MTV.

What I did get out of the education was an understanding of equipment usage and the techniques, and an understanding of the phrase "know the rules so you know when to break the rules". What I also got out of school was the contacts, ... the teachers, and my fellow students and even the local TV stations. The students really helped each other out, and many of the teachers were connected to the local video industry.