You are here

Complete Newbee

lee_b's picture

Hey guys, I'm a complete newbee to recording video and was wondering if anyone could offer some help. Basically, I'm trying to record a music videos to upload on to you tube. I have a Macbook Pro, a Cannon HF100, 2 x CS1000 mics, FCE and an Mbox audio card.

I want capture the video through my camera, and the stereo audio through my external microphones, and edit it all within FCE.

What would be the best way of doing this? At the moment, I'm comletely stuck.

Many thanks in advance.

Lee.

Anonymous (not verified)

lee.

if some one told you 'how to do it', it would be their video not yours, and you might have well hired them to do it for you.. correct?

We all started off where you are now with a idea, a camera, some mics (if we where lucky) and the hard work bit to come. So as long as you can get the audio from the 2 mics to record into the camera them you can start to record.

You will need to 'get to know' all the equipment- final cut, lean the program. use the camera and see what you can do with it and what shots you can get from it. you will need to learn how to shoot from the palm and keep it steady, not shaking as if there is a earthquake happening! You will need get some one to be your mic operator, you are not going to be able to film with the camera and the point the mic in the right direction at the same time, unless it is fixed to the camera,i have no idea if you have got other video equipment but get to know all that as well understand what it is designed to do and how to use it.

In short start to practice, you will get better slowly.

Learn from your mistakes.

Try out new ideas.

See what people think of what you have produce. Don't get upset if it is not all positive.

See what others do but don't copy it, use it as a tool and adapt it and see if you can do that, if you can't work out why you can't. Then do you can do it.

Give yourself some time to get confident.