You are here

Combining tungsten & daylight...is this ok?

daxalain5's picture

Newbie here! Is it okay to have a combination of Tungsten key light (softbox) and daylight as a fill on interview shoots? I did a test earlier and tried using an LED light as fill but the color did not match (it has a greenish tint.) I shot the video and there was daylight coming through a window but it was diffused somehow so it was not as strong. I have a lamp that was on during the interview that served as my background light. So.. back to my question... is it okay to do this? Is there a rule for this?

Thanks!

theonecanoe's picture

As a rule of thumb, when it comes to mixed lighting I always do a manual white balance (actually, I always manual white balance wherever I shoot)on the predominent light source. Depending on the time of day, time of year, overcast or sunny conditions etc. will determine the colour your camera reproduces. When faced with artificial/natural light mixtures I try to add a gel to my artificial light so that it mimicks the natural light. An example would be adding a blue gel to your tungsten fill light so that it mimicks the blue cast from the outside light streaming in. My professional camera (Panasonic DVC Pro) has a b/w viewfinder, so I just let experience guide me, but with a colour viewscreen you can easily see the result just a soon as you do a white balance. If you don't like the effect, try repositioning the subject or moving some lights, re-white balance and check the result on the colour viewscreen.

Wayne

D0n
D0n's picture

as a general rule warm colors appear to advance and cool colors appear to recede so using color to create depth is quite an effective technique...