You are here

Capturing Africa

peterhits's picture

Hi all! My name is Peter and I am relatively new to the videomaking business. I go to a filmschool through which I managed to secure an internship filming documentaries in and about Uganda (east africa) next february.

The tricky bit is the fact that I'll be alone throughout the process. Which means i'll have to manage sound, video and interviewing all at the same time.

I have been given a 4000 euro budget and am trying to work out what gear to take with me and was wondering whether any of you have some suggestions for both the gear and the trip itself.

The gear I selected:

Camera: Canon XA10 - has xlr ports which allows for pro audio and is very compact. Also, since the footage will only be shown on the internet, I am asuming the AVCHD codec will suffice. The alternative is the xf100 which is 1000 euros more expensive and allows for less money to go to a accessories.

Sound: A shotgun mic. Either Sennheiser K6 with ME 64 or a rode mic. Also I am trying to find an affortable lapel mic. Also a camera stand to mount the shotgun on to record when handeling the camera.

Dolly: trackslider dolly system 75 cm (fits in lugage and gives a pro look to the film)

Is there something I am forgetting? Is there something I really should know before traveling to africa? Does anyone have any experience doing a one man documentary?

Any advice is welcome!

vid-e-o-man's picture
Plus Member