You are here

Can I use lav mics as boom mics?

mrboyd's picture

Hello all. This is my first post. I am a legal videographer who is going to shoot a short film soon with my Sony FX1. Regarding locationaudio(mostly in moving vehicals), is it possible to use one(or more)of my Sony ECM-44B lav mics as a boom mic and run them into my Beachtek XLR adapter, then into my VX-2100 as separate audio? I have a Shure SCM268 4 channel mic mixer, but we'll be a car most of the time. Also regardless of the answer to my question, what are the pros/cons to recording into my Beachtek/VX-2100 vs a typical field recorder?I'll get a boom mic if neccessary, but since I have this equiptment I'd thought I'd ask. Thank you in advance

theonecanoe's picture

Hi Mark,

The Sony ECM series lav mics are great workhorse microphones and I use them all the time when shooting news stories that involve inside vehicle shots. I don't see why you'd even consider a boom mic insde the tight confines of an automobile. You can easily run the XLR ECM mics into the Beachtek then route them toeither your FX1 or the VX-2100 and get good reliable sound.

Wayne

mrboyd's picture

Hi Wayne,

Thank you so much for the advice. I should have specified that MOST of the shots are in a car but some are not. How would those lav mics works outside on a "boom" pole of some kind? Thanks again,

Mark

theonecanoe's picture

Mark, The lav mics are omnidirectional, meaning they pick up sound "all around" wheras most boom mics are directional, meaning they pick up sound in the direction they're pointed at. so..placing a lav mic on a pole will give you sound, but maybe too much of everything.If you are recording dialouge, can't you just clip the lavs to the talent/actors?

mrboyd's picture

Hi Wayne,

I can clip the lavs to the actors, but since the mics are wired, it will really restrict some things. Thanks again for all the great advice!

MediaFish's picture

Mark,