You are here

Beginner needs advice on hardware/software for documentary

cfox's picture

Hello everyone. As stated in the title, I am a complete beginner to all of this, so I would really appreciate any and all advice. I'm planning a documentary-style production as part of a little project I'm working on, but I need some serious help deciding what exactly I need. I've been looking at some camcorders and researching as best I possibly can, and I already have a decent PC that I hope will be able to handle the editing side, so let me run those by you first.

Camcorder
I'm looking at the Canon VIXIA HF S10. It's a HD model and has internatl 32GB storage which I think would be handy considering I'll be shooting at multiple locations and might not want to transfer video to my PC in between (or have multiple cards). However, I'm not sure if this is the model that I NEED...it's a great-looking camcorder and would handle my project nicely from what I can tell, but if I should start with something lower-end first I'd be open to hearing that. The big question is...do I need HD? If I shoot with an SD camera will it affect the picture when viewed on TV's (will it be 4:3 or can I still get a 16:9 with an SD camera)?

PC
I currently have a Dell XPS 730x as my gaming rig that I think I should be able to use for the editing side of this project. It has an Intel i7-920 processor (8 core, probably 2.6GHz if I remember right). It has 6GB of RAM, running Vista 64-bit, and I've got a dual ATI Radeon 4870HD for a total of 4GB video RAM. I have one hard drive, and from what I've read on the Adobe website about the Production Premium suite, I don't know if I'll need a second hard drive (website says "dedicated hard drive for editing...."). Just not sure. So do you think I will be fine with this computer?

Editing Software