You are here

AVCHD & Adobe Premiere Elements 7.0 & Exporting to DVD

Ogriv's picture

I have a Panasonic camera using AVCHD. My editing software is Adobe Premiere Elements. When I export the quality is excellent unless I export to DVD. When I play the DVD on the TV the footage is slightly blurry.

Using this camera and editing program, I'm trying to figure out how to get a good quality DVD.

Once I'm done editing, should I export the project in a particular format and then use a DVD burning program to burn that format to DVD? If so what format should I export as, and what program would be best when making the DVD? I don't have Mac, only Windows.

When I export a project using Windows Media or QuickTime it looks great. Is there anyway to take a Windows Media or QuickTime file and burn it to DVD so that it works on the TV?

I love my camera and being as I am a beginner using Premiere Elements, but I've got to solve this burning it to DVD and it still looking good issue. If possible I'd like to solve this problem without buying and learning a new editing program.

I appreciate any help.

zoobie's picture

A lot of times, those all-in-one programs have subpar results. Firstly, going from AVCHD to DVD starts off by reducing your data by about half.

Try doing the best you can with your editor then save your project as a DVD compliant mpeg. Import said mpeg(s) into your authoring program making sure it's not re-encoded as you save it as a ISO. Then burn your ISO with a good program such as ImgBurn.

Another world's first! - www.BuskerAlley.com - Busker HD on the web!
In Production - Busker Alley - The Movie!
Want to make a small fortune in videography? Start with a large fortune!

chuckengels's picture

Zoobie, I can tell that you have never used or seen any results from Premiere Elements.

The program is very comparable to Premiere Pro in many ways and version 7 handles AVCHD very well.